Updated List of Countries Requiring Cooperation With an International Boycott.

aerial view of city lit up at night

Photo by Aleksandar Pasaric on Pexels.com

The Department of the Treasury is required under section 999(a)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to publish a list of countries which require or may require participation in, or cooperation with an international boycott.

As of 5/16/2018, these countries include:






Saudi Arabia


United Arab Emirates


The full Federal Register notice can be found here.

Office of Antiboycott Compliance (OAC)

The United States Export Administration Regulations (EAR) require all US persons (individuals, corporations) to report requests they have received to take actions to comply with, or support an unsanctioned foreign boycott.┬áThe Treasury Department publishes a quarterly list of “boycotting countries.”


What do the Laws Prohibit?
Conduct that may be penalized under the TRA and/or prohibited under the EAR includes:

(1) Agreements to refuse or actual refusal to do business with or in Israel or with blacklisted companies.
(2) Agreements to discriminate or actual discrimination against other persons based on race, religion, sex, national origin or nationality.
(3) Agreements to furnish or actual furnishing of information about business relationships with or in Israel or with blacklisted companies.
(4) Agreements to furnish or actual furnishing of information about the race, religion, sex, or national origin of another person.
(5) Implementing letters of credit containing prohibited boycott terms or conditions.


How To Report?:
All requests for boycott participation is required quarterly and can be filed electronically or by mail (Form BIS 621-P or BIS 6051P). BIS 621-P should be used for single transactions and BIS 6051P for multiple transactions in which boycott requests may have been received in a calendar quarter.


If you have any questions about boycotts, contact experienced trade and compliance attorney, Davis Hsu at 832.896.6288 or by email at: dhsu@givensjohnston.com.

US Treasury Secretary Mnunchin may travel to Beijing for trade talks.


77th United States Treasury Secretary, Steven Mnuchin

Earlier this week, current US Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin told reporters he may travel to Beijing for trade negotiations to ease U.S.-China tensions.

In recent weeks both countries have announced tariffs on goods imported from the other country and the tensions between the US and China (the world’s two largest trading partners) has raised concerns of an impending trade war. The US first proposed tariffs totaling $150 billion on Chinese imports and Beijing has proposed tariffs on American goods such as soybeans.

In response, the Ministry of Commerce, People’s Republic of China would “welcome” the move by Treasury Secretary Mnuchin.

More updates as they become available.